Life in Hostel 2

When the hostel proposed a two-months job in Montevideo I thought spending that much time in a quiet small city (1.5 million inhabitants) was going to be boring, but in the end I accepted the offer. Indeed, two months is a lot for Montevideo, but the experiences I had there made it worth it. I believe going to Montevideo was one of the best decisions I’ve made on this trip.
This hostel was a lot better than the one in Rio, a lot bigger and cleaner. I slept in the female dorm and most of the time I was by myself in the room. I had a wardrobe, a locker and another storage space. I know it doesn’t sound like much, but when you’re staying in a place for a long time being able to keep your stuff organized really makes a difference! I had to hand-wash all my clothes (again) as the private laundry rooms were too expensive. I also home cooked all my meals and now I can cook reasonably.
I worked in the reception, in the bar and I helped with the cleaning in the morning. The last was obviously the worst, but I think it helped me become a bit more neat. Plus, the hostel was pretty quiet, so I didn’t have to clean up puke.
The bar was the most challenging part as I am very introverted. I had to convince people to come to the bar and to make them have a good time. The truth is I sucked at it. I wasn’t so good at making drinks either. But in the end I had some great nights there. I wouldn’t like to be a bartender in a hostel again, but if an offer comes along I would accept it. I had to go out of my comfort zone every night when I was working in the bar, which in the end I think it was good for me.
The reception was my favourite task. I only had 2hrs/day which wasn’t very efficient.When my boss got married I worked during morning shifts and it made me feel a lot more helpful.
I liked the fact that every person in the staff was concerned with how happy the clients were. We were all doing our best to create a good atmosphere where people would like to return (which happened a lot). This might not seem like much, but it doesn’t happen in all the hostels.
What I liked most is the fact that we were like a family, with all the ups and downs. There were some guys who lived in the hostel for a longer time, so I felt comfortable having familiar faces around. In Rio I felt sad when everybody left before Christmas.
The down side was that the hostel was so big and comfy that I had had days when I didn’t even get out. The hostel in Rio was basically forcing me to get out every day in order to get some privacy, which was very good for me in the end.
To sum up, this period helped me a lot. Not from a touristical point of view, but from a personal one. I’ve met interesting people, I’ve made friends, I’ve learned Spanish (more or less), I’ve learned some things about myself and I think I’ve improved my social skills. In the end this is what I was looking for through this journey.

2 thoughts on “Life in Hostel 2

  1. I envy you your English and your courage. Half the things you do, I haven’t even dared to dream of.
    I like the way you write and it’s great that you choose to document and share your experiences, so I’m glad that I briefly met you in Rosia Montana and following found about this blog.

    You are inspiring, please keep the updates coming.

Leave a Reply

